This year we had 81 ladies from 9 clubs nominate to play in the Championships.

Covid was still prevalent during club qualifying rounds and as we emerged from a wet winter, clashes with Club competitions, the opening of travel and even spouses surprise holidays greatly affected the number of ladies who had played sufficient qualifying games or could with any confidence commit to three consecutive Championship Sundays.  Despite these issues the Championship began with 30 qualifiers and only two walkovers.

Thank you to Mosman Park Golf Club for hosting the quarter finals on the 4thSeptember and Pinjarra the semi-finals on the 11thSeptember.

It was disappointing that no affiliated club courses were available free to WABLGA for the Championship Final on Sunday 18th September.  Fortunately, Linda Silverlock was able to negotiate some timeslots at Royal Fremantle, albeit having to pay green fees.  Having two matches ie four players in each group was new and challenging to a few of the finalists.  Thank you to Maura Morrissey for volunteering to be our GolfWA Rules Official and for keeping the golf flowing as best it could under the circumstances.

Donna Parsons, after having been Division 1 runner up in 2008, 2017 and 2018 was able to snatch victory from Stacy Dhu in an exciting finish on the 18th hole.  It looks good for the future with three of the four ladies who had not been finalist previously winning Division 2, 3 and 4.

2022 WABLGA Championships Results:

Division 1 Donna Parsons (Mosman Park) defeated Stacy Dhu (Pinjarra) (1up)

Division 2 Ava O’Brien (Bunbury) defeated Julie Rogers (Bunbury) (4/2)

Division 3 Martine Keenan (LKCC) defeated Linda Silverlock (Royal Fremantle)  (6/5)

Division 4 Pauline Joseph (Royal Perth) defeated Tracy Simpson (Pinjarra) (8/7)

2022 WABLGA Champion Perpetual Trophy (awarded to Div 1 Champion)

Winner: Donna Parsons – Mosman Park

Patsy Best and Maureen Thomas Perpetual Trophy (best gross over 2 qualifying rounds)

Winner: Leith Elliot – Royal Perth (25 above par)

Runner up: Stacy Dhu – Pinjarra (27 above par)

Betty Newman Perpetual Trophy (best nett over 2 qualifying rounds)

Winner: Kerry Sachse – Mandurah (-4) on a countback

Runner up Meredyth McLarty – Pinjarra (-4)

Eileen Dawson Perpetual Trophy  (5 best nett scores of 2nd qualifying round)

Winner: Pinjarra Golf Club (370)

Corrina Rudler, Joanne Havelburg, Christine Matson, Tracy Simpson

and Meredyth McLarty.

Runner up: Royal Perth Golf Club (385)

Ola Hempseed, Penelope Radunovich, Sophie Williams, Jill Penter and

Leith Elliot.

Debra Renfrey – 2022 WABLGA Event Co-ordinator