On Closing Day at Royal Fremantle Golf Club on Sunday 13th November we acknowledged the contribution of Maureen Thomas – co-founder and Life Member of WABLGA.  Maureen received a standing ovation upon her arrival at lunch and was presented with beautiful bunch of flowers and a large colourful card made by Leith Elliot on which members wrote their appreciation, congratulations and best wishes for her recent 90th birthday.

Also in attendance was Pat Collins, Royal Fremantle Ladies Co-ordinator who spoke on her role which was developed to fill the gap left when a restructure of memberships meant that there was no longer a Ladies Captain at Royal Fremantle Golf Club.  A not unfamiliar happening at many clubs recently.

Hartfield Country Club’s Tui Pursell and Annie Kok were also guests of WABLGA, competing out on the course and enjoying the lovely buffet lunch afterwards in the clubhouse.  Hartfield had expressed an interest in re-joining WABLGA and Closing Day was an opportunity for the lady representatives to get the feel of how things were run.  The committee was delighted that Hartfield General Manager, Brian Close, has supported their interest with a formal application for Club affiliation in 2023.

Despite fixture clashes with other golf events, forty-two ladies from Bunbury, Lake Karrinyup, Mt Lawley, Mosman Park, Pinjarra, Royal Fremantle, Royal Perth, WAGC and our Hartfield guests attended.

The challenging course conditions of cored fairways and sanded greens surprisingly did produce some excellent individual scores on the day.

As in many previous Closing Days, the winning club was the host club.  Congratulations to Royal Fremantle Golf Club for winning the 2022 WABLGA Nora Watts Trophy, by just 2 points from WAGC.

The three ladies contributing to the combined winning total of 113 was Alison Adams (41 points), Gee Lightfoot (38 points) and Linda Silverlock (34 points).

Close runner ups were the Western Australian Golf Club with a total of 111 points.  The WAGC players were Debra Renfrey (39 points), Leah Sackville (36 points) and Sharon Clayton (36 points).

The individual best gross score was Leith Elliot (Royal Perth) with 84 and best individual stableford score was Allison Adams (Royal Fremantle) with 41 points.

Nearest to Pin winners – Tui Pursell (Hartfield), Leith Elliot (Royal Perth), Sharon Clayton (WAGC) and Georgie Wynne (Lake Karrinyup).

Both Longest Drive and Longest Putt prizes were won by Georgie Wynne.

Closing Day is the opportunity to present the seasons perpetual trophies including the GolfWA Silver Spoon.

2022 WABLGA Champion Perpetual Trophy (awarded to Div 1 Champion)

Donna Parsons – Mosman Park

Patsy Best and Maureen Thomas Perpetual Trophy (best gross over 2 qualifying rounds)

Leith Elliot – Royal Perth

Betty Newman Perpetual Trophy (best nett over 2 qualifying rounds)

Kerry Sachse – Mandurah on a countback

Eileen Dawson Perpetual Trophy  (5 best nett scores of 2nd qualifying round)

Pinjarra Golf Club   – Corrina Rudler, Joanne Havelburg, Christine Matson, Tracy Simpson

  and Meredyth McLarty.

The WABLGA Silver Spoon – donated by GolfWA (best 3 of 5 nominated nett rounds)

Meredyth McLarty – Pinjarra 

Special thanks to Mara Pritchard and her ladies from Royal Fremantle for co-ordinating the display and raffling of the many items donated or made by Royal Fremantle, Mosman Park and Lake Karrinyup Clubs.

A wonderful amount of $1025 was raised on the day for our 2022 charity ‘Care Bags’.  Thank you everyone who donated and purchased tickets.

Finally thank you to Royal Fremantle’s Maura Morrissey, Linda Silverlock, Frazer Courts (Food and Beverage Manager), Pro-shop staff and Lucy Guppy (General Manager) for making it a great end of season!

Debra Renfrey – WABLGA Event Co-ordinator